Reviews

April 6, 2020

Shivaji Park Dadar 28: History, Places, People In this little gem of a biography, Shanta Gokhale, author, cultural critic and longtime resident of the area, brings together key events and individuals to create a matchless portrait of the neighbourhood. Book review of Shivaji Park Dadar 28:

April 1, 2020

The Legend of Himal and Nagrai is an enchanting collection of folk tales from a land as beautiful as it is misunderstood—Kashmir. Book review of The Legend of Himal and Nagrai: Greatest Kashmiri Folk Tales

April 1, 2020

When I Hid My Caste Utterly unsparing in its depiction of the vicious and inhumane centuries-old #castesystem, this landmark book is now finally available in English, in a brilliant new translation by the award-winning author and translator Jerry Pinto. Book review of When I Hid My Caste

April 1, 2020

Birds in My Garden and Beyond brings to vivid life the world of Indian birds, and shows us what we need to do to look after them—and make our world more beautiful. Book review of Birds in My Garden and Beyond

April 1, 2020

Earthquake Boy is a compelling adventure story that brings to life the reality of abandoned and orphaned #children living on their own in the big cities of India. Book review of Earthquake Boy

April 1, 2020

God is Dead, There is No God is a treat for modern-day seekers as well as poetry lovers. Book review of God is Dead, There is No God

March 25, 2020

The Most Beautiful Night of the Soul takes us into the disorienting days and disquieting nights of a man who seeks the truth in the midst of war and chaos, even as he fights his own demons. Book review of The Most Beautiful Night of the Soul

March 18, 2020

A Doctor’s Experiments In Bihar Dr Taru Jindal, a young gynaecologist from Mumbai, went to work in Bihar’s Motihari District Hospital, hoping to use her medical knowledge to make a difference in the lives of people who had limited access to trained doctors. Instead, she found herself battling apathy, callousness and appalling inefficiency.Read book review of A Doctor’s Experiments In Bihar

March 16, 2020

Boys from Good Families ‘No shortcuts, no slang, hers is a celebration of language. Every sentence is pregnant with meaning, the mundane comma could mark a passage of time, and time itself becomes secondary as the narrative leapfrogs back and forth.’ Book review Of Boys from Good Families

March 11, 2020

Shivaji Park owes its birth, at least partly if not wholly, to the plague epidemic of 1896–97.The problem created by the plague was not only socially complex, but medically too. Book review of Shivaji Park

Page 1 of 2012345...1020...Last »

Coming soon   /   View all

Connect with us

Join the Speaking Tiger Books mailing list: